Society #5: Life Inside A Comic Book

Four Orders

12 March 2021


Paladin, Defender, Norm, or Zealot; what Order do you belong to?

Due to my many labeled quote-unquote diseases, dreams can come in unusual forms. Many times I have absolutely no memory of even sleeping let alone dreaming. Until two nights ago, I haven’t remembered any significant dreams since 2018.

Acts 34; But this is that, which was spoken by the Prophet Joel, *and it shall be in the last days, says God, “I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh, and you your sons, and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams.

Prior to 2018 the significant dreams were intense and have come to pass. Now, I have begun to dream again. Yes, I am saying I have had dreams that have been more like visions of the future. Our current vice-president may fulfill one of them herself.

Honestly, I hope they don’t stop. Am I saying this current set of dreams are like visions – not at all. How can a dream be a vision when I am dreaming about the past and the present.

While the world and specifically America has plunged into hatred for one another – those of my Order have had to be pulled one way or another. You read that right, “Those of my Order.”

You see the Orders are four groups of people: 


There are Paladins: a leading champion of a cause. Paladins are those that are labeled “disabled”. Whether we choose to or not; our voices are always heard. It may not be in the way the other three Orders would have us communicate, however ‘We are Always Heard.’ 


There are Defenders: a person who defends someone or something. The Defenders are the Paladins closest allies. They are caregivers of all walks of life. My wife is my greatest Defender. They are those that know us best and at times they may never have met us before they stepped up to offer assistance.


There are Norms: a person or group of people that conform to a standard. Everyday the Norms are everywhere. Some turn a blind eye to us, some look us in the eye, some scream at us, some say hello. Many of them have blinders on so they don’t even see us. A majority of them go about their day, every day, as if they are oblivious to life around them.


There are Zealots: a person who is fanatical and uncompromising in pursuit of their religious, political, or other ideals. The Zealots are the worst of the four Orders. They stand up for what they believe in – even when it goes beyond basic discrimination. There are many levels of discrimination and the Zealots are the worst. Many of the Norms are Zealots hiding in plain sight.

The thing is you can rise to one or fall to another. A Zealot can become a Paladin, a Paladin can become a Defender, a Defender can become a Norm, and a Norm can become a Zealot. In each of the four Orders there are those that are good and there are those that are evil. There is no middle ground.

I am RR “Elroy” VanWoert and I am a Paladin.

Society #2

Society #8